The aim of the Department is to promote scientific knowledge, research and teaching in the area of Physics. The Department offers a four-year program leading to an undergraduate degree in Physics. Special emphasis is placed on balanced learning in both traditional classroom and laboratory settings. Teaching consists mainly of lectures and laboratory courses, supplemented by seminars and tutorial sessions. The program accepts approximately 35 students per year. 

The program consists of five types of courses:

(1) Basic or introductory courses
(2) Core courses
(3) Specialization courses
(4) Compulsory courses from other Departments
(5) Elective courses, from at least 3 different Faculties

The basic or introductory courses are all compulsory and prerequisite for the core courses. The latter are also compulsory and cover many areas that a physicist must master. On completion of these courses, students will take a number of specialization courses. These aim to familiarize students with concepts and topics that will be relevant to their final year project work and will help define their professional orientation on graduation. 

The program contains compulsory courses offered by other Departments, such as the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, the Department of Chemistry and the Language Center. 

Finally, the program requires students to take elective courses outside the Department to complement the main area of studies. These options are selected in consultation with their Academic Advisor.